First Project: Cherokee Wild Huckleberry Cake

Picked out by my fiancé, I’m starting this project with the Cherokee Wild Huckleberry Cake from the book: A World of Cake: 150 Recipes for Sweet Traditions From Cultures Near and Far by Krystina Castella.

Cherokee Wild Huckleberry Cake

According to the book, this cake is a combination of “traditional Cherokee foods (native huckleberries, walnuts, honey, and corn flour) with an English honey-butter cake” (A World of Cake, page 42).

Is your mouth watering thinking about this? Because mine is!

I’m not sure where I’ll be able to get huckleberries from, but the recipe does suggest substituting the huckleberries for blueberries or cranberries. The blueberries will probably be my go-to if I can’t find them, mostly since it means that the walnuts can stay in the cake (if you substitute for cranberries, Krystina recommends taking them out altogether), and huckleberries and blueberries have similar taste profiles.

I hope to have this done in time for Easter Sunday- I think it’ll be a nice treat to go along with the lamb for dinner that night (though traditionally this is a Thanksgiving cake).

Leave a Reply

