Baking the Cherokee Wild Huckleberry Cake

I decided to make the cake for Easter, even though traditionally it is made as an accompaniment to Thanksgiving. As any chef/baker will tell you, when starting any recipe, make sure you have all of your ingredients set out or measured out in your mise en place.


Of course, I had to go back out and get regular flour- usually we have it in the apartment so I didn’t think to check. Rule #1: Always double-check your ingredients so you don’t have to go back out before you start.

This recipe is quite easy to put together and make. It should take no more than half an hour to mix everything and get it ready to go into the oven. I’d never used the amount of honey the recipe called for- 3/4 of a cup in the batter itself- and was surprised at how much it made the batter smell like bananas.


It poured beautifully into the pan with minimal sticking to the bowl. I substituted out huckleberries for blueberries (because where would I find huckleberries in time?)


The recipe called for baking it 35-45 minutes, but I put it in for 55 ultimately. It turned out beautifully, perfectly golden brown on the top.


While it was cooling, I thinned out some honey with water in a skillet and put walnuts and blueberries in it for 1 minute to make a glaze for the top.


Once it was cool, I helped myself to a slice. It had a very sweet taste to it, but was light at the same time, and so delicious. This is right for any holiday or just something to have with afternoon tea. I’m looking forward to making this again. 

Leave a Reply

